Show Menu
  • Hero_prize_3

    How To Enter

Entry Guidelines...

ENTRIES FOR THE 2019 PRIZE HAVE NOW CLOSED… Entries for the next prize will open in November 2019.

Food and drink must be at the heart of the winning tale. Your short story could, for instance, be about crime or intrigue; about a chance meeting over a drink; a life-changing conversation over dinner; or perhaps the details of a relationship explored through food or drink.

Along with Jeremy Mogford we’re very pleased to announce that our two guest judges for the Mogford Prize 2019 are Julian Barnes, English Author and Man Booker Prize winner, and Tim Hayward, FT contributing writer and winner of the Restaurant Writing Award at the Guild of Food Writers Awards 2018…


Competition Rules...

* Your short story should have a maximum of 2,500 words. There is no minimum and the title is not included in the word count.

* Entries for the Mogford Prize 2019 were accepted from 5th November 2018 (12 noon, GMT).

* The closing date was 7th January 2019 (12 noon, GMT).

* The Long List of 25 will be announced on this website by 15th February 2019.

* The Mogford Prize 2019 Party, when the winner will be announced, will be held on 3rd April 2019.

Full terms & conditions for the Mogford Prize 2019 can be found here