Show Menu
  • Hero_Prize_2019_4

Mogford Prize 2020 Winner Announced...

The 2020 Mogford Prize for Food & Drink Short Story Writing has been awarded to Laura Theis who has lived in Oxford since 2011, originally from Ottobrunn, near Munich. Her story, ‘The Lift’, was selected from 1,280 entries from all over the world. This year’s short-list was judged by Prize founder Jeremy Mogford, award-winning actor and writer Stephen Fry, and television presenter, cookery writer and novelist, Prue Leith, CBE.

Runners-up, who receive cheques of £250, are the Irish writer Fergal Greene, who works in Brussels, for ‘If it’s Good Enough for Swift it’s Good Enough for Me’; Mary McGrath, an Irish writer based in the UK, for ‘Sup’; and the Oxford writer Peter Adamson for ‘Boiled Egg with Rosie’.

Read more about Laura Theis >

Mogford Prize 2020 Longlist Announced...

A huge congratulations to the 25 writers listed below who have been longlisted for the 2020 Mogford Prize.

Making the longlist is a considerable achievement given that the competition attracted well over 1,000 entries…

The 2020 prize longlist, in alphabetical order, is:

Peter Adamson (UK)
Elizabeth Andersen (UK)
Steve Ashton (UK)
Martine Bailey (UK)
Tom Darke (UK)
Bryn Fazakerley (UK)
Lorna Fergusson (UK)
Fergal Greene (Ireland)
Victoria Haggblom (US)
Jane Eaton Hamilton (Canada)
Simon Holden-White (UK)
Virginia Harriss (UK)
Cassia Littler (UK)
Eva Lomski (Australia)
Mary McGrath (UK)
Adam Napier (UK)
Elizabeth O’Connor (UK)
Ingrid Persaud (UK)
Isla Robertson (UK)
Laura Melis Theis (Germany)
Ruth Tudor (UK)
Angela Wright (UK)
Alena Walker (UK)
Tahira Yaqoob (UK)
Sarah Zimmerman (UK)

The winner of the 2020 prize will be announced at our prize party on 3rd April ’20, and published on our website shortly afterwards.

Entries for the Mogford Prize 2020 are now open!

Food and drink must be at the heart of the winning tale. Your short story could, for instance, be about crime or intrigue; about a chance meeting over a drink; a life-changing conversation over dinner; or perhaps the details of a relationship explored through food or drink.

We are overjoyed to announce that our two judges in the 2020 competition are none other than Stephen Fry & Prue Leith!


* Your short story should have a maximum of 2,500 words. There is no minimum and the title is not included in the word count.

* Entries for the Mogford Prize 2020 will be accepted from 4th November 2019 (12 noon, GMT).

* The closing date is 13th January 2020 (12 noon, GMT).

* The Long List of 25 will be announced on this website by 11th March 2020.

* The Mogford Prize 2020 Party, when the winner will be announced, will be held on 3rd April 2020.

Full terms & conditions for the Mogford Prize 2020 can be found here

Click here to find out how to enter this year's prize >

2019 Mogford Prize Shortlist

A huge congratulations to the 4 writers, listed below, who have been shortlisted this year’s prize.

This year’s judges; Jeremy Mogford, Julian Barnes, and Tim Hayward, would like to announce the shortlist for the 2019 Mogford Prize.

In alphabetical order, they are:
– April Pierce (UK)
– John Simpson, CBE (UK)
– Elisabeth Ingram Wallace (UK)
– Tahira Yaqoob (UK)

The winner of this year’s prize will be announced during the Mogford Prize Party on 3rd April 2019 and will be posted on this website the day after.

An overview of each author’s story, plus a brief biography, can be found below…


2019 Mogford Prize Longlist

Congratulations to the 25 writers listed below who have been longlisted for the 2019 Mogford Prize.

Making the longlist is a considerable achievement given that the competition attracted 1,019 entries from 58 countries around the world.

This year the Mogford Prize attracted entries from Israel, the United Arab Emirates, the Palestinian Territories, Trinidad and Tobago, Columbia, Guyana, Bermuda, Jamaica, Georgia, Iran, Monaco, Myanmar, Vietnam, Kazakhstan, Ukraine and Georgia.