Mogford Prize
Prize Closed News Inner 1670x1260px 2


Oct 21, 2022

The recent publication of The Oxford Collection Food and Drink Short Stories hardback book has given me the opportunity to reflect on the future. I have taken the very difficult decision that, after ten wonderful years, the short story prize will come to an end and we will not be inviting any further entries for 2023 and beyond.

The Food & Drink Short Story Prize has been the most stimulating and satisfying experience of my life, enabling me to meet so many interesting and hugely talented writers, along with an incredible panel of judges. Our special edition hardback book has been the ultimate prize for me as it combines ten years of exceptional winning stories with the very best of the rest. The book is available to purchase throughout The Oxford Collection’s restaurants and hotels, and online via our gift voucher sites.

So, all good things must come to an end and I take this opportunity of thanking everyone who has been involved with the Prize over the years and you of course, for your unrivalled enthusiasm.

Who knows what stories and adventures may lie ahead…

– Jeremy Mogford


My gratitude and untold thanks go to all of our eminent judges, who so wholeheartedly entered into the spirit of the prize.

Julian Barnes
Dame Mary Berry DBE
Bill Bryson OBE HonFRS
Stephen Fry
Tim Haywood
Mick Herron
Geraldine Holt
Dame Prue Leith DBE
Jeremy Mogford
Sir Michael Morpurgo OBE FRSL FKC
Lawrence Norfolk
Andi Oliver
Lorraine Pascale
Sir Philip Pullman CBE FRSL
Lemn Sissay OBE
Donald Sloan
Rick Stein CBE

And to our talented authors

Jane Cammack (winner, 2018)
Guy Carter (winner, 2014)
Guy Carter (winner, 2015)
Tom Darke (longlist, 2020)
Thomas Mogford (2007)
MZ Pevsner (winner, 2016)
Emma Seaman (winner, 2013)
Ian Shine (shortlist, 2017)
John Simpson (shortlist, 2019)
Finlay Taylor (winner, 2021)
Laura Theis (winner, 2020)
Caitlin Venniker (winner, 2022)
Elisabeth Ingram Wallace (winner, 2019)
Nicky Winder (winner, 2017)
Tahira Yaqoob (shortlist, 2019)